Skip to content

Monster.com: Spam Capital of the Internet

Today, Monster.com have taken one step closer to their goal: becoming responsible for all the spam on the internet. They spammed just about every internet user in Cork (except me, hehehe). Tom Raftery has the details: Monster steals email addresses and spams it@cork membership.

It was not too long ago – 2 months? – that these guys were fighting the most miserable PR battle, as they tried to convince the world that they do care about the integrity of your confidential information (your personal details, your email address). 1.6 million+ people got their names tacked on to some Ukranian guy’s spamlist thanks to Monster’s inadequate security policy. These 1.6 million people are now being contacted by Nigerians peddling phony job opportunities (remember those 419 scams in the Examiner jobs section?) Millions of people trusted Monster.com with their information – not only their home phone number and email address, but practically their entire life story. Their work experience, their strengths, their education history, even their hobbies. Monster make huge profits from selling this information, and in return you get an inbox full of V|agR4 spam.

I’m trying to put myself in Monster.com’s shoes – how would I react to something like this in the media. I can really only see one route: I would change my attitude towards data protection – I would make it my top priority. I would audit my operations, make policy changes wherever necessary and I would launch a campaign to tell the world that we will do our best to protect your privacy. I really cannot understand how Monster’s business development manager in Ireland cannot see this. Not only does he blatantly spam a lot of very vocal people – he thinks he is justified in doing so!

Tom makes an interesting point:

The Irish Data protection Commissioner takes a very dim view of this and has the power to levy fines of up to €3,000 per address spammed (so potentially €570,000 in this case).

It is so rare that anyone is held accountable for breaches of the data protection act. This is such a perfect example with no excuse. Michele reckons this kind of thing can destroy a company’s reputation. Well, a company like Monster doesn’t have much left to destroy. I’d just like to see how the Irish Data Protection Commissioner responds.

Update: Michele has more information here. Digg it.

4 Comments

  1. Michele wrote:

    I was hoping to get some satisfaction from Monster before publishing the email contents, but as others have started blogging about it I might as well follow suit …

    At least I now know where they got the email addresses from…

    Michele

    Monday, October 1, 2007 at 21:42 | Permalink
  2. Pedro wrote:

    You sad sad people, Do you really have nothing better to do than complain about spam email, it would be easier just to delet it.

    I know you wont publish this because you are probably biased however i would just like to say to you grow up people!!!!!

    Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 10:45 | Permalink
  3. James wrote:

    Pedro, when you have been fighting large amounts of spam for years, you realise how big a problem it is for the internet. It is an illegal privacy infringement, and this case shows Monster’s blatant disregard for data protection laws. The reason this instance is so worrying, as I tried to point out, is because Monster is a job board which makes me wonder how safe are the confidential details in Monster’s database?

    Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 11:27 | Permalink
  4. Michele wrote:

    “Pedro”
    We wouldn’t have to delete it if we hadn’t been sent it.

    Most proper businesses manage to market without spamming. Why does Monster want to abuse email instead of using correct methods?

    Michele

    Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 13:27 | Permalink

4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] about it. Also, someone from a Monster IP address is going around the place defending spamming and personally attacking anyone that talks about Monster. Heya Monster. Guess what? Also those bloggers who are talking about this [...]

  2. Poetbloggs’ Blog » Blog Archive » Monsterous? on Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 17:19

    [...] Damien followed it up with a post – that led to me finding the out about the recall via Michele, who is threatening to blacklist the Monster IP. It get’s even better – comments from the Monster IP are appearing in blog comments… [...]

  3. [...] the blogs of the IT@Cork members – see some of the comments by "Pedro" on this post, and this one, and probably [...]

  4. [...] looking at the various blogs following this issue, it looks like the guy took all of the email addresses from the IT@Cork member [...]

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.